Jens Lüders – Group Leader

Jens obtained his PhD in Biology from the University of Heidelberg, Germany, and did his postdoctoral work with Tim Stearns at Stanford University, USA. During this time he investigated how cells spatially control the formation of new microtubules and identified NEDD1/GCP-WD as the long-sought-after targeting factor for the microtubule nucleator γTuRC. He showed that NEDD1/GCP-WD, through its targeting function, is required for microtubule nucleation at the centrosome and within the mitotic spindle. Since 2008 Jens is heading the Microtubule Organization Group at the IRB Barcelona in Spain.

Marcos Fariña – PhD student


Delia Ferrando – PhD student


Cristina Lacasa – Research Assistant



Julia Mestres – PhD Student


Alexia Tasca – Postdoc

Chithran Vineethakumari – PhD student


Former lab members

Marta Lovera (Master student 2017; PhD student 2018-2023; Postdoc 2023)

Fabian Zimmermann (PhD student 2017-2021; Postdoc 2022-2023)

Nina Schweizer (Postdoc)

Andrea Musacchio Lab, MPI of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund, Germany

Melina Schuh Lab, MPI for Multidisciplinary Sciences, Göttingen, Germany